Jazz Lifetime Achievement Silver Medal

This respected award is offered to a member of the profession who has made a considerable contribution to the jazz world, as a performer, composer, arranger, teacher, pedagogue, or combination of these.  Established in 1993, the recipients read like a Who’s Who of the industry, with past award-winners including Sir John Dankworth, Ronnie Scott and Eddie Harvey, and most recently Elaine Delmar, Art Themen, Dave Holland and Stan Sulzmann.

The recipient of the 2024 Award is trumpeter Henry Lowther.

Full list of winners:

1993 Sir John Dankworth CBE
1994 Ronnie Scott
1995 Humphrey Lyttelton
1996 Bill Ashton MBE
1997 Stan Tracey CBE
1998 Dame Cleo Laine
1999 George Shearing
2000 Marion McPartland (special medal)
2000 Don Lusher OBE
2001 Chris Barber
2002 Tony Coe
2003 Kenny Wheeler
2004 Allan Ganley
2005 Tommy Whittle
2006 Tony Kinsey
2007 Acker Bilk
2008 Eddie Harvey
2009 Brian Lemon
2010 Norma Winstone MBE
2011 John Surman
2012 John Taylor
2013 Digby Fairweather
2014 Dave Green
2015 Frank Holder
2016 Bobby Wellins
2017 Peter Ind
2018 Peter King
2019 Steve Rubie
2020 Elaine Delmar
2021 Art Themen
2022 Dave Holland
2023 Stan Sulzmann
2024 Henry Lowther