New Elizabethan Award (for guitarists and lutenists)

A biennial award for classical guitarists and lutenists for the performance of solo and/or ensemble music, written by composers from the two Elizabethan ages.
The award has a total value of £15000 and is generously sponsored by David & Sandra Brierwood, Michael Beverley, Miles Roberts and the Kathleen Hannay Memorial Charity.

Due to the ongoing safety concerns caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, the Selection Round for the 2020/21 Award was decided by the Panel in an online meeting at the end of August.

The distinguished Panel members were Dame Emma Kirkby, Judith Weir CBE, Angela Dixon, Paul Galbraith, David Miller, Craig Ogden, and Michael Lewin (non-voting Chair). The Panel found, without exception, outstanding qualities in each performance.

The winner of the 2020/21 award is Michael Butten.

Michael will perform at the NEA Showcase concert at Wigmore Hall on Saturday February 6th 2021.