Sir Charles Santley Memorial Gift for Distinguished Vocalists, Composers of Vocal Music or Researchers into Singing

Established in 1956, it is endowed within the Will of John Joseph Mewburn Levien in memory of Sir Charles Santley, a great singer of the 19th century and Liveryman of the Company and whose biography was written by Levien. The Award provides for up to two gifts to be made annually to retired and active distinguished vocalists, composers of vocal music or researchers into singing.

There is a Santley Award Winners’ Signature Book, which can be seen by Clicking Here. A full list of award winners can be found here.

Recent winners:

2023 – Carolyn Watkinson and Declan Costello

2022 – Cecilia McDowall and Brindley Sherratt

2021 – Anne Howells and Mark Wildman

2020 – Sheila Armstrong and Graham Clark

2019 – Alice Coote OBE and Iestyn Davies MBE

2018 – Joyce DiDonato and Roderick Williams

2017 – Teresa Cahill and Donald Maxwell