Yeomen Concert: Joseph Shiner (clarinet) & Somi Kim (piano)

Lutoslawski – Dance Preludes
Mozart – Divertimento No. 2 in B flat K4
Ravel – Piece en forme de habanera
Rachmaninov – Vocalise Op. 34 No. 14
Weber – Concertino in E flat Op. 26

Winner of the Musicians’ Company Prince’s Prize in 2015, Joseph Shiner has been dazzling audiences with his colourful and insightful playing and his innovative programming. Weber’s Concertino demonstrates the composer’s pioneering virtuoso clarinet writing while the arrangements of hugely popular Ravel and Rachmaninov vocalises show off the instrument’s melodic qualities and Lutoslawski’s Dance Preludes transform Polish folk dance rhythms into pieces of extroadinary energy and vitality.

The City Music Society’s Lunchtime Concerts are supported by The Musicians’ Company and the London Bach Society.