The Lord Mayor’s Composition Prize 2020 Winner: Joanna Ward

The Lord Mayor’s Composition Prize for 2020 has been awarded to Joanna Ward for her composition cuts, round, slow-moving. Scored for contralto, viola and piano, the work is a setting of the poem A London Thoroughfare. 2AM by Amy Lowell.

The jury of Teresa Cahill, Elizabeth Rossiter, John Harle and Paul Patterson, chaired by Leslie East, was also impressed by the submission of Thomas Metcalf, The Lights of London for baritone, French horn and piano, and agreed that this work should also be recognised and rewarded.

The Company is therefore delighted to announce that Joanna Ward has been awarded a prize of £4,000 for the winning work and that Thomas Metcalf’s composition has been Highly Commended and he has been awarded £1,000.

A performance of Joanna Ward’s work will be arranged by the Company in the summer of 2020 and City Music Society will arrange a second performance in the autumn of 2020.