The Prince’s Prize 2022

The Musicians’ Company was delighted to be able to hold the Prince’s Prize Finals Concert at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama on 21st April after a gap of two years during the Covid-19 pandemic. The Prince’s Prize was established to mark the installation of His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales as an Honorary Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Musicians on 21 November 2003. The Prize received a generous endowment in 2015 from The Eranda Rothschild Foundation and Rothschilds Bank, in memory of Leopold de Rothschild.

The Prize is to recognise ‘the most promising young instrumentalist or singer from the Company’s award winners’ in the current year and consists of an award of £10,000 and a Silver Medal.

The five Finalists (photo: Jeff Kelly)








Manu Brazo saxophone, James Gilbert clarinet, Rosa Hartley violin, Laura Peresivana soprano and Petr Sedlak bassoon each presented a 15-minute programme to an audience of Company Members and their guests. After a long and tense time of deliberation, the jury, comprising Scott Cooper, Alice Farnham and William Vann, chose Laura Peresivana as the winner of the Prince’s Prize 2022.

The Mrs Prudi Hoggarth Audience Prize, decided by audience vote, was awarded to Manu Brazo.


  Laura receiving her prize from the Master, The Rt Revd Graeme Knowles CVO (photo: Jeff Kelly)









  Manu receiving his prize from the Master (photo: Jeff Kelly)