Chi-Hoi Cheung

Chi-Hoi Cheung

Key Facts

  • Instrument: Piano


Acclaimed for his ‘sheer pianistic panache’ and ‘impressive sense of performance and flair’, Hong Kong born pianist Chi-Hoi Cheung has found success at several competitions including the Brant International Piano Competition, Watford International Piano Competition, Springboard Concerto Competition, and Coulsdon and Purley Concerto Competition. He is a recipient of numerous awards including the Help Musicians UK Postgraduate Award, Musicians’ Company Doris Starke Prize, ABRSM Jardine Matheson Fund, and Appelbe Piano Prize.

He has performed as a soloist, recitalist and chamber musician at major venues across the UK including Royal Albert Hall’s Elgar Room, Steinway Hall, St James’s Church Piccadilly, Birmingham Town Hall, The Barber Institute of Fine Arts, Charlton House and Pallant House Gallery. He made his concerto debut in 2017, performing Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto with Worthing Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Dominic Grier to great critical acclaim. He is also a member of Duo Bauhinia with flautist Sirius Chau, whom will be making their debut at The Bridgewater Hall after winning the Manchester Mid-day Concert Society audition.

Chi-Hoi graduated from the Royal College of Music in 2016 with a Bachelor of Music with first class honours, supported by a Croucher Foundation Hong Kong Award. An RCM Award Holder supported by a Hilary Fabian Award and a Gordon Calway Stone Memorial Scholarship, he is currently pursuing a Master of Music degree studying with Gordon Fergus-Thompson and Leon McCawley. He has been selected by the RCM to participate in masterclasses with artists including Dominique Merlet, Leslie Howard, Alexander Bonduriansky and Peter Jablonski. He was also awarded a Polonsky Foundation Fellowship to study with Hung-Kuan Chen at the Aspen Music Festival in Aspen, Colorado, and a scholarship from the Musical Odyssey Summer Masterclasses to study with Artur Pizarro in Nafplio, Greece.


Musicians’ Company Award: Doris Mabel Starke Prize 2016

Page Updated: May 2018