Beethoven Medal (Beethoven Piano Society of Europe Intercollegiate Competition)

The Beethoven Medal has been organised by the Beethoven Piano Society of Europe (BPSE) since 1994 for current conservatoire students. The competition aims to encourage Beethoven interpretation of the very highest standard, as well as to nurture young pianistic talent in Britain.  An engraved Silver Medal is awarded to the winner as decided by a distinguished jury (winners also receive recitals in the BPSE concert series).  Established as the John and Renate Iles Medal, this award was endowed in 1993 by Pastmaster Iles in celebration of him becoming the fourth member of his family to hold that office. Please contact the BPSE for information about the award.

Recent winners:

2021 – No award

2020 – Dmitry Kalashnikov 

2019 – Thomas Kelly 

2018 – Minkyu Kim

2017 – Tolga Atalay Ün

2016 – Andrei Iliushkin

2015 – Ilya Kondratiev

2014 – Mihai Ritivoiu

2013 – Maksim Stsura