New Elizabethan Award 2020: Selection Round Result

On August 27th the Selection Round of the Company’s second New Elizabethan Award took place online.

The distinguished Panel comprised Judith Weir CBE, Dame Emma Kirkby, Angela Dixon, David Miller, Paul Galbraith and Craig Ogden, with Michael Lewin (Immediate Pastmaster) as non-voting chairman.

Of the eight performances, six were given by solo guitarists, one by a solo lutenist and the other by a lute and tenor duo; both lutenists also played theorbo in their programmes.
The Panel found, without exception, outstanding qualities in each performance.

The performer that the Panel finally selected to hold the New Elizabethan Award 2021 is: Michael Butten (guitar)

The Holder of the New Elizabethan Award 2021 will be invited to present both the NEA’s Wigmore Hall Showcase at 1 p.m. on Saturday February 6th 2021 and subsequent concerts.