Helena Švigelj

Helena Švigelj

Key Facts


Helena Švigelj is a young Slovenian cellist, recipient of many prizes such as a Silver Medal from the Musicians’ Company, the John Thompson String Ensemble Prize, 1st Prize at CAVATINA Intercollegiate Chamber Music Competition 2017, 1st prize at the Vera Kantrovich Bach competition 2016, 1st prize at the Vivian Joseph classical concerto competition 2016. Currently, she is studying a Postgraduate Artist Diploma at Trinity Laban Music and Dance Conservatoire in London, in the class of renowned professor David Cohen.

As soloist she performed with established orchestras, such as Slovenian Philharmonics Orchestra, Orchestra of Royal conservatory of Mons (In Belgium and France), Orchestra de chambre de Wallonie and NOVA philharmonics.  Other musicians that Helena had worked with include Rivka Golani, David Parry, Yi-Chen Lin, Uxia Martinez Botana and Jodie Devos, just to name a few.

As passionate chamber musician, Helena has performed in Great Britain, Belgium, Slovenia, Croatia, China, Germany, Italy, France and Austria. She played at renowned venues like St. John’s Smith Square, St. Martins in the Fields, St. James Piccadilly, Blackheath Halls Recital room, ORNC Chapel, PoundArts Centre, Slovenian Philharmonics Hall, Studio 4 in Flagey, Brussels.

She has been asked to perform at festivals such as Les sons intensifs in Lessines (Belgium), Grange Festival (Hampshire), festival in Föhr (Germany), festival Côté cour & côté jardin, festival de Wallonie (Belgium), Il Concertando Festival in Rome (Italy), festival Lent and Glasbena Mladina Ljubljanska (Slovenia).

Currently Helena plays in Meridies Piano Trio with whom they are also part of Richard Carne mentorship programme.  Next year she has few exciting engagements, including performing at various concerts in London and festival in Mexico.  Helena is very grateful to Ofenheim Charitable Trust, who generously supports her study at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.


Musicians’ Company Award: Trinity Laban Silver Medal 2017

Page Updated: 2017