Musicians’ Company Tina May Jazz Award

The Young Jazz Musicians Medal, renamed the Tina May Jazz Award in 2022, is given to an exceptionally talented young British jazz musician, chosen by audience vote after a gig at Pizza Express Jazz Club, Soho.  The winner also receives fees totalling £1000 and a further £600 to perform with his/her band as part of the Company’s jazz programme during the year.

Entry: Competition open to nominated musicians currently studying at one of the conservatoires

Inaugurated: 1991, endowed by Pastmasters Jeffery Lockett MBE and Nigel Tully MBE

2023 Emile Hinton piano
2022 Fergus Quill bass
2021 Daniel Higham trombone
2020 No Award
2019 Sahra Gure
2018 James Davison
2017 Will Barry
2016 Daniel Casimir
2015 Adam King
2014 Moses Boyd
2013 Emma Smith
2012 Laura Jurd
2011 Lewis Wright
2010 Nathaniel Facey
2009 Shane Forbes
2008 Zem Audu
2007 Michael Janisch
2006 Jim Hart
2005 John Escreet
2004 Troy Miller
2003 Ben Hazleton
2002 Leon Greening
2001 Colin Oxley
2000 Tom Cawley
1999 Steve Brown
1998 Jim Watson
1997 Tim Garland
1996 Mark Nightingale
1994 Andy Panayi
1992 Tina May